PRIS ELECTION URGENT

STATE ELECTION COMMISSION, ODISHA, TOSHALI BHAWAN, B-2, 1ST FLOOR, SATYANAGAR, BHUBANESWAR- 751007

No. $\frac{3187}{\text{Ele(GP)}}$ /SEC.,

Date: 18/09/2023

NOTIFICATION

Whereas, the Bye-Election to the office of the Chairman of Digapahandi Panchayat Samiti in the District of Ganjam was Notified by the State Election Commission, Odisha vide Commission's Notification No.2824/SEC. dated.17.08.2023.

Whereas, the aforesaid Bye-Election scheduled was deferred by the State Election Commission, Odisha vide order No. 2938/SEC dated 31.08.2023 basing on the report of the Collector & District Magistrate, Ganjam;

Whereas, in the meantime, the Hon'ble High Court of Orissa in WP(C) No. 29457 of 2023 have passed interim orders on 11.09.2023 in Order No. 02 "List on 21st September, 2023. Pendency of the writ petition will not prevent extension of the period to conduct the election and election being held in the meantime".

Whereas, the Collector & District Magistrate, Ganjam vide his letter No.1422/GP dated.16.09.2023 has intimated that the Law & Order situation in Digapahandi Block is normal and peaceful.

Now, therefore, in exercise of powers conferred under Article 243 K of the Constitution of India and Rule 46 (1) of Odisha Panchayat Samiti Election Rules, 1991, the State Election Commission is pleased to order that Bye-Election shall be held to fill up the aforesaid casual vacancy as per the Schedule below;

SCHEDULE

S1.	Particulars	Date	Time
No.			
1.	Issue of notice by Election Officer.	26.09.2023	
2.	Issue of nomination forms and	04.10.2023	10.00 AM to 11.00 A.M
	presentation thereof.		
3.	Scrutiny of nomination paper.	04.10.2023	11.00 AM to 11.30 AM
4.	Withdrawal of candidature.	04.10.2023	Before 12 Noon
5.	Voting, if necessary.	04.10.2023	12.30 PM to 2.00 PM
6.	Counting of votes and declaration	04.10.2023	After poll is over
	of result.		
7.	Publication of name of duly	04.10.2023	
	elected Chairman by Election		
	Officer.		
8.	Submission of result to State	04.10.2023	
	Election Commission.		
	I		

By order in the name of the State Election Commission, Odisha

(B. K. Dash)
Secretary

