MUNICIPAL GENERAL ELECTIONS, 2008-09

IMPORTANT STATISTICS

1.

2.

3.

106.

	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	104
(i)	No. of Municipal Bodies in the State.	103
(ii)	No. of Municipal Bodies covered under the General Elections held in September, 2008.	91
(iii)	No. of Municipal Bodies covered under the General Election . held in December, 2008.	3
(iv)	No. of Municipal Bodies covered under the General Election held in February, 2009.	2
(v)	No. of Municipal Bodies not covered under the General Elections 2008-09 as election was not due.	07*
(vi)	No. of Municipal Bodies where election were due, but not held in September, 2008 on account of injunction from the Hon'ble High Court, Orissa.	03**
(vii)	No. of Municipal Bodies where election were due, but not held in September, 2008 due to the prevailing law and order situation in the District.	02***
(i)	No. of Wards in the 96 Municipal Bodies.	1721
(ii)	No. of Wards where polls were actually held.	1718
(iii)	No. of Polling booths set up.	4046
(i)	No. of Voters.	36,94,842
(ii)	No. of votes polled.	20,66,897
(iii)	Percentage of votes polled	56%
(iv)	No. of votes rejected.	0
(v)	Percentage of votes rejected.	0
(vi)	No. of E.D.C.	43
(vii)	No. of tendered votes	324
(viii)	Percentage of tendered votes.	0.0157%

Elections to Balimela, Burla, Belpahar, Paradeep, Rairakhol and Sunabeda Municipal Bodies were last held in April 2005, and are next due in April, 2010. Election to Kendrapara Municipality last held in November, 2006 and next due in November, 2011.

** Baripada Municipality/Bhubaneswar and Cuttack Municipal Corporation.

Phulbani Municipality and G.Udayagiri NAC.